Weekend to-do list – June 12-14

by

By  Meaghan White

Even in gig land Friday looks pretty barren to me. Maybe I missed the fun memo, but I think you’re going to have to make your own good times happen on this one. Unless you like Bluejuice, who are playing at The Zoo. I’m not going to leave you empty-handed and restless though. I’m going to break my back for you. I’m going to work it all out for you. I’m going to link to someone else’s list. The idea of that list is to focus on dates that are not the same ol’ dinner-and-a-movie schlock. You don’t need to be in love to partake in these activities – they’re good for friend

No Anchor

dates too. In fact I’d recommend – strenuously – you have a friend date this Friday. My favourite one is: Build a fort. Righteous.

Now, for my money, Saturday from 3PM is sorted. No matter who you are, what you do: this will be good for your soul. Make it over to Ric’s in time to catch No Anchor‘s last show “for months”. Smile, relax, give yourself over to the sludge-y doom. The world is grand, life is a series of moments in a casual but not necessarily causal stream of awareness and this is beautiful to you. The room vibrates, the brutal noise of No Anchor becomes the Om, your spirit lifts; it flies. That is appropriate because this show is spiritual preparation for later in the night, when you will be going to The Troubadour to see The Smokestack Orchestra, HITS and New Jack Rubys.

Keep one thing in mind: This is the evening of Deerhunter and Judith Lucy, so it really is the day of days for sorting the women from the girls.

Here are some alternatives and augmentations for Saturday, which seems to have gotten all of Friday’s fun too:

The Zillmere Multicultural Festival: a multicultural food, performance and workshop extravaganza which will take place between 10AM-4PM at O’Callaghan Park.

Cupcake Cannibals VS Cut-throat Cowgirls – the third bout of the Northern Brisbane Rollers‘ roller derby season (or something? Does roller derby HAVE seasons? Am I even spelling roller derby right?). I’ve heard about the past NBR bouts and I’ve gotta tell you, you should only consider attending if you’re up for some righteous levels of fun. Babes on rollerskates? What an idea.
P!NK at BEC? No, I’m just kidding.
What I meant was a night of tacky entertainment at the Beenleigh Tavern. It’s called Masters of Rock and Babes and Bikes. I will leave you with this fan testimony taken from the MASTERS OF ROCK promotional material, as I feel it is a suitable end to the post.

One Response to “Weekend to-do list – June 12-14”

  1. Meg Says:

    Oh damns, seems I messed up email submission. Here’s the other person’s link of fun things to do: http://galadarling.com/article/very-definitely-not-dinner-a-movie

Leave a Reply

