Festival: Soundwave 2010

by

Well what a day.

The day starts with The Plough and I putting on our respective band t-shirts suitable for the day. The Plough goes for a black, tasteful and appropriate The Tea Party shirt. I go for old faithful The Mark Of Cain Ill at Ease t-shirt.

So any way getting in was a snap at about 11:20am. Although I did try and get in as Under 18 and had to be told politely that I was in fact over 18 and should probably get a wrist band to say so. My mistake.

So into the breach dear friends we went.

It was still early so we did some exploring and passed by Too Late Escape as they opened the whole festival. After taking in the whole site and getting our bearings we stopped off at RX Bandits, and they were not too bad. Rocking for early in the day and engaging. The sound was bouncing off the railway line from stage 6 and it sounded powerful so we went across to have a look. Rolo Tomassi (industrial scream metal) were playing. The sound that comes out of that little lady is something else. What a huge voice, lady screaming at its finest. However being a touch old and soft we soon gave in and went back to RX Bandits.

Then on to Sunny Day Real Estate as The Plough had heard things about them. Not sure what things, but they were good and sitting in the sun on the grass at the main stage was its own reward.

Then as Taking Back Sunday (modern teenage punk) started their set we moved back to the back stages to see You Me At Six., and our first encounter with Lady Gaga’s Poker Face. It was a hard rockin’ punked up version on the song. Not too bad, but not a great version and not that the original is much chop either. (Faith No More did a better version later in the evening)

We gave up on You Me At Six for lunch. The shortest line was for the German sausages. I went for the cheese kransky, The Plough the same but with chips. Then to the main stage for some sun and eating. The Eagles Of Death Metal were into their set and having seen them before at the Tivoli I thought they did a good job of keeping the crowd going. The sausage was ok and the chips less so. But hey, festival food so deal with it.

Alexisonfire (more modern teenage punk) cranked the crowd as I went into a food coma and said Meh to moving to see Clutch. When we did finally haul ourselves up to Stage 4 we heard the crunching eighties inspired sounds of Clutch for about 2 minutes. Arse. They sounded cool, and my food coma and the subsequent Meh had delayed me. Curse my foolish stomach. Sigh. But as they had to reset the stage we moved on disappointed to Stage 5 and Comeback Kid. Now these guys had the feel of pub punk and I liked it. A group of guys playing hard because they like what they play. Nice.

Leaving Comeback Kid at the end of their set we went to see what Anvil is all about. We thought we might stop at Reel Big Fish but the sound was not conducive to a good ska gig. Reel Big Fish can really play but the sound quality was too poor for a good performance so we left before I could be disappointed. What we found at Anvil made up for missing Reel Big Fish. It was eighties rock killing it, full of wonderful guitar foolishness and brilliant drum silliness. Magic. We saw two songs. One about Mothra, with the great call by the lead singer of “Give it up for the people of Japan!” Nice job. The second song was Metal On Metal. The anthem for all metal as Anvil put it. What a lovely drum solo. Anvil were so happy playing that it was infectious. The music was so full of metal clichés but at the same time it used them so wonderfully that you didn’t care about the schlock. Smiling all the while the joy they looked to be having playing was good to see.

Another rest on the grass under the big top of Stage 4 waiting for Meshuggah. And as the crowd started to build we figure we were in for something good. And it was. Loud hard, heavy with a large dose of man screaming. Loved the set. It was over all too soon and we fell over again waiting for Anthrax.

I have seen Anthrax once before and I was so happy with it. Original line up and playing all of the eighties hits that I know so well. So when they hit the stage (about 10 minutes late) I was disappointed. Not the original line up and not the eighties hits. The songs were good, but I just could not feel it. They had the Anthrax sound, but right then my own head and prejudice was stopping me enjoying the show. I wanted to leave but The Plough wanted to stay. So stay we did. I took a deep breath, examined why I was not liking the great sound they were making, realised it was because I had a preconceived notion of what was going to happen. I took a deep breath, relaxed my brain and listened to the music and let it drive me. The Plough was right as he so often is. They were playing well and sounding great. So when the fourth song kicked in and it was Caught In A Mosh I was right where I needed to be to let fly. I moshed up a storm in my own little world. And when The Plough tapped me on the shoulder telling me we had to leave to go catch Jane’s Addiction I was not disappointed any more and I was very dizzy.

The Plough and I were discussing the fact that I had been listening to a version of Mountain Song by Sepultura. We thought they might do a better version than Jane’s now. And when it was the first song we heard as we entered the arena it was a bit of magical timing. Jane’s Addiction are a great band, and they sounded fantastic. But Perry Farrell really should just sing and not try banter with the crowd, it just didn’t work. Strained, forced and just sounding totally out of place, his attempts to appear to be sexually powerful were just odd and slightly off putting. And even though it sounded great it seemed to me like Dave Navarro was playing to a girl side of stage as he rarely was giving his full presence and attention to the crowd and his body was more angled to side stage. Only when finishing the set did he totally face the crowd, and that was because he sat on a chair to play Jane Says. The sound was great the performance left some to be desired.

Keeping our place on the ground by collapsing for about the fourth time in the day we sat listening to Jimmy Eat World play. A late fill in for My Chemical Romance they played what probably was a good set. Unfortunately for Jimmy Eats World it just wasn’t the festival for them. Their sound really didn’t fit with the day, and I have to give them massive credit for performing as well as they did. They still drew a big crowd but the music style didn’t quite fit with the rest of the day.

And then their was Faith No More.

My first concert was Faith No More, back when they toured Album Of The Year. I was a late starter but what a band to start with. I would have been willing to pay the $150 ticket price just to see them, so my day was just about to get so much better.

Thinking they might start with Midnight Cowboy I was totally surprised and blown away by the crooning intro of Reunited. And with Roddy Bottum singing the duet with Mike Patton you felt that the band were back and strong. Looking debonair in paisley suits Reunited both introduced them back to their adoring fans and proved that they were still a musical force. Easily moving between the soulful and hard core Faith No More showed that they are still relevant today by out performing and by having music written over eleven years ago that is still relevant and ahead of its time today. Looking excited and relaxed the band seemed to be in tune with each other and were happy to let each member (especially Mike Patton of course) explore the talents they had grown over the intervening years. Mike Bordin showed mad skills by drinking a bottle of water that was being poured by his drum tech while he was playing, and Mike Patton showed mad cock by taking control of a camera and waving his penis all over the place and having it shown on the big screen. My highlight in a concert that I hope to never forget was Surprise! Your Dead. My second favourite song off The Real Thing album (behind Woodpecker From Mars) I was ecstatic when it kicked in.

Words are but sad descriptors to the joy I felt during and after Faith No More played. Even now I think back on it and feel happiness. Please release a new album, please.

After the show there was the ridiculousness of having tens of thousands of people trying to leave through one exit. Foolishness. And having security trying to get you to leave when all they are directing you towards is a massive crush of humanity was silly.

But realistically silly was a good end to the day. A day I will never forget.

3ply

Leave a Reply

